Get the Promonews daily round up

User Accounts

Get the Promonews daily round up

Gorillaz ft Adeleye Omotayo 'Silent Running' by Jamie Hewlett & FX Goby

Rob Ulitski - 13th Feb 2023

Gorillaz co-creator Jamie Hewlett & FX Goby direct a super ambitious promo for new track Silent Running, featuring Adeleye Omotayo.

The video is a rip-roaring clash of live action and seamless CGI, and sees the other members of the band help 2-D escape an unfortunate fate. 

Building upon the narrative arc of the upcoming album - in which the group are spiralling towards a day of reckoning called The Rupture - the video is an inspired mix of Disney fantasy and cult-like horror, which sits well within the greater Gorillaz canon. 

It's a big achievement, well worth all of the attention it is getting. 

Featured sponsors

Rob Ulitski - 13th Feb 2023


  • Alternative
  • Indie
  • Cult
  • Narrative
  • Reckoning
  • CGI
  • VFX
  • live action

Popular content


Problem with this page? Let us know



Jamie Hewlett
FX Goby
Isobel Conroy
Jo Bierton
Diana Angelius
Production Company
Nexus Studios
Service Company
Tuna Icon
Executive Producer
Jamie Hewlett
Executive Producer
Damon Albarn
Executive Producer
Charlotte Bavasso
Executive Producer
Chris O'Reilly
Executive Producer
Mike Bell
Executive Producer
FX Goby
Executive Producer
Darren Price
Executive Producer
Tina Braham
Production Manager
Ruyi Meer
Production Coordinator
Tyler Antin
Head of Production
Rachel Moss
Head of Resourcing
Natalie Busuttil
Studio Resourcing Coordinator
Meg Dupont
Studio Systems Administrator
Rory Bedward
IT Support
Vinicius Donadio
PR & Marketing
Valentina Tarelli, Nancy Edmondson, Steph Anjo
Executive Producer
Ivana Antic
Line Producer
Diana Bojovic
Production Designer
Goran Joksimovic
Costume Stylist
Ivana Ivic
Lead Prosthetic makeup artist
Katarina Bugarski Gajic
Lead Prosthetic makeup artist
Nenad Gajic
Narrative design
Ed Caruana and Thomas O'Malley


Director of Photography
Ricky Patel


Dave Slade


George K
Colour grade company


CG Supervisor
Dave Hunt
VFX Supervisor
Germán Díez
Lead Compositor
Sacha Danjou


Director's Representation

Other credits

Head of Pipeline

Tom Melson

Systems Engineer

Ryan Cawthorne

Character Modeller

Andrew Hickinbottom

Character Texture Artist

Florian Caspar

Lead 3D Animator

William Lorton

3D Animators

Marylou Mao, Tom Lowe

3D Generalist

Josh Barlow, Matilde Vinther

2DFX Animator

Bethany Levy


Sander Saks, Gareth Tredrea

Storyboard Artists

Emmanuelle Walker, Louis Kynd

Lead Rigger

Niko Rossi


Nayla Nassar

VFX Editors

Andrea Zantiras, Zaki Fulford


Ieuan Lewis

Creative & Talent Development

Delfina Maria

Head of Studio

Ben Seager

IT Manager

Jason Yee

Head of 2D

Gary Fouchy

Lead Compositor

Navid Bagherzadeh


Mat McCosker, Daniel Alvarez, Chris Charlton

Digital Matte Painter

Jamie Phillips

Junior Compositor

Wendy Lu

Head of Lighting

Mike Lomas


Trent Rogan, Cosmo Park

3D Tracking



Team VFX Artist

Sound FX Designer

JM Finch

Additional Sound FX

Brain Audio

Rob Ulitski - 13th Feb 2023

Related Content

Industry News

Promonews logo

Music video creativity everyday.
Submit your video