Lassamie Prasimay - 17th July 2018

The final A Tribe Called Quest video, directed by Warren Fu, is a fitting send-off.

Fu's eight-minute sci-fi-inspired music video for The Space Program (from ATCQ's latest, final album, We Got It From Here… Thank You 4 Your Service) is a star-filled, effects-laden epic, ambitiously weaving between the sci-fi visual narrative, and current social issues with politically-charged lyrics about race and the African American experience.

Historical footage and images of civil rights activists like Martin Luther King Jr, Rosa Parks, Muhammad Ali, are amplified with the addition of cameos from Common to Erykah Badhu, Rosario Dawson to Alicia Keyes, and many more.

Warren Fu had help from Emmy-winning post studio Therapy Studios to create his vision, with Therapy's Lenny Mesina co-editing the video to enhance the visceral experienceAdditional work in sound design by Eddie Kim, and in visual effects by Flame artist Geoff Stephenson, also helped bring this futuristic odyssey to life, and bring the curtain down on one of the greatest hiphop outfits.

PRO Credits


DirectorWarren Fu
ProducerJona Ward
Production CompanyPartizan Darkroom
Executive ProducerWhitney Jackson
Director of PhotographyByron Werner
Other creditsDirector: Warren Fu Executive Producer: Whitney Jackson Producer: Jona Ward Production Company: Partizan Director Of Photography: Byron Werner Production Designer: Kai Boydell Wardrobe Stylist: Lysa Cooper Post Production Editors: Warren Fu And Lenny Mesina Sound Designer: Peter Lauridsen Additional Sound Design: Eddie Kim Visual Effects: The Mill Visual Effects Supervisor: Martin Karlsson VFX Artists: Brett Lopinsky, Dag Ivarsoy, Daniel Lang, Dylan Streiff, Lisa Ryan, Jeannie Huynh (Remedy), Sam Evenson, Timothy Crabtree, Tom Van Dop Colorist: Matt Osbourne Color Assist: Asa Fox Executive Producers: Enca Kaul And Thatcher Peterson Senior Color Producer: Liza Kerlin Producer: Marie O’Briend Post Production Company: Therapy Studios Executive Producer: Joe DiSanto Head Of Production: Allegra Bartlett Producer: Margaret Ward Co-Editor: Lenny Mesina VFX Artist: Geoff Stephenson Additional Sound Design: Eddie Kim Audio Assist: Brandon Kim And Dillon Cahill Additional Compositing: Ciro Ayala Production Support Assistant To Producers: Laura Lareau Assistant To Mr. Fu: Elissa Nechamkin State Bed Driver: Bryan Lachance Talent Motor Home Driver: Spencer Newberg Van Drivers: Juan Jacobo And Phil Graham Location Stage Manager: Charlie Puzzo Production Assistants: J. Logan Alexander, Jaison Cabebe, Dylan DeLuca, Alyssa Durling, Eric Ellis, Zach Groll, Steve Hulse, Ian James, Katie Kaag, Sean McManus, Bryce Perell, Sam Tiger, And Taylor Williams Director’s Photographer: Saoli Nash Behind The Scenes: Rene Vargas And Aaron Marquette Starring: Q-Tip Phife Dawg Jarobi White Ali Shaheed Muhammad Guest Appearances By: Erykah Badu Ta-Nehisi Coates Common Consequence Rosario Dawson Doug E. Fresh Alicia Keys Talib Kweli Ladybug MEcca Janelle Monae Anderson Paak Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson Kelly Rowland Vince Staples Black Thought Pharrell Williams ATCQ Management: Kim Lumpkin Michael Ostin Quasia Johnson Apple Music: Larry Jackson Alexa Dedlow Nathalie Besharat Unit Production Supervisor: Rachel Ottenstein Assistant Production Supervisor: Dana Kurth First Assistant Director: Erik Mateo Second Assistant Director: Anthony Hayward Talent: Q-Tips Stand-in: Dion Shepherd Jr. Ali Stand-in: Frank Gonzalez, Ryan Hollis Jacobi Stand-in: Wigymbert Dieujuste Faceless Man: Michael Kurtz Crew 2nd Unit Director Of Photography: Juancarlos Amaya Art Director: Drew Cookson Asst. Art Director: Chelsea Turner Set Decorator: Sarah Staskauskas Set Dresser: Jeremy Glaholt Prop Master: Jeff Legore Leadman / Art Driver: Ed Lee Camera Operator: Kyle Klutz First Assistant Camera: Nick Bianchi Second Assistant Camera: Andy Chen Loaders: Matt Berbano, Preston Phillips VTR: Xan Hammar Playback: Jacob Baas, George Gomez Galler: Steven Lundgren Best Boy Electric: Chris Patterson Electric: Jeb Alderson, Larry Brecht, Chris Ernst, Brian Scotti Key Grip: John Warner Best Boy Grip: Max Gerson Grips: Chris Soronen, Adam Murray Grip Driver: Johnny Ziello Special Effects Coordinator: David Mesloh Special Effects Assistant: Trent Mesloh Wardrobe Assistant Stylist: Leonard Murray, Santa Bevacqua, Leo Robinson Hair And Makeup: Aliana Moss Storyboard Artist: Brian Essig-Peppard

Lassamie Prasimay - 17th July 2018

Related Content


Paramore 'Rose-Colored Boy' by Warren Fu

Warren Fu's new video for Paramore gives frontwoman Hayley Williams a juicy role as an increasingly disillusioned anchorwoman - flanked by her bandmates - on a local TV breakfast news …

David Knight - 12th Feb 2018

Latest News