David Knight - 14th June 2018

She has been one of the UK's top music video producers for years, and is the co-founder and executive producer of PRETTYBIRD in the UK. Now Juliette Larthe has made a surprising and very welcome move into music video directing, with a wonderful video for an awesome song from Spiritualized's new album, And Nothing Hurt.

I'm Your Man sees Spiritualized's Jason Pierce assuming his alter-ego as J Spaceman, wandering the iconic landscape of the Californian desert - on foot, and in a classic 60s automobile. It's simple, beautifully shot in different formats by DoP Cristina Dunlap, and in its nostalgic cinematic feel, perfectly captures Spiritualized dream-rock sound. 

It's also a portrait of J Spaceman - always enigmatic, never anything less than drop dead cool. He's crafted another classic Spiritualized song with I'm Your Man, for an album that he created at his home in East London. So perhaps he really had just emerged from the dark, blinking into the California sunlight, when they made this... 

JULIETTE LARTHE:

“I have worked with Spiritualized for 20 years, either commissioning, creative directing, exec producing or a mixture of all three. I’m so happy that I got to work with Jason Spaceman again. This record has been worth the six year wait: it’s a piece of love, and transcends anything else I have heard this century…a proper slayer.

"Making the assets has been a tough process, yet a fantastic experience. The work speaks for itself - from the press images, the album images, the teaser campaigns to the videos. It was a dream team who smashed it, and I hope it helps get the record the recognition it so truly deserves. Everyone needs this on their playlist. It’s medication for the soul and healing for the spirit.”

PRO Credits

Credits

EditorElise Butt
DirectorJuliette Larthe
Director of PhotographyCristina Dunlap
Executive ProducerCandice Dragonas
Camera AssistantTravis Waddell
Art DirectorRich Good
ProducerHannah Bellil
ColouristRuth Wardell
Line ProducerTiffany Suh
Editing companyTrim Editing
Edit ProducerNoreen Khan
Post ProducerOliver Whitworth
Other creditsPerformed by Spiritualized@officialspzd Written by J. Spaceman@jspaceman3 Directed by Juliette Larthe @juliette_larthe Produced by Hannah Bellil @hannahbellil Executive Producer US - Candice Dragonas @candeeedragon Cinematography - Cristina Dunlap@cristina_dunlap Camera Assistant - Travis Waddell@traviswaddell Art Direction - Rich Good@riichgood Edit - Elise Butt @elisesnelise Telecine - Ruth Wardell@wvrdell Line Producer - Tiffany Suh@tiffanysuh Grip - Nick Herman@swervinherman Drone supplied by Christine Ritchie at Strato Aerial@stratoaerial Drone Pilot - Colin Burgess Camera Equipment supplied by AJ Crankshaw @a.j._crankshaw at The Camera Division @thecameradivision Lighting Equipment supplied by Bronco Lighting @broncolighting Production Assistants - Ricardo Sapienza, Bill Colino & Benji Landman @benji.landman Research & Development - Tom Manaton Additional Research - James Jeannette & J. Spaceman Offline editing and additional Sound Design at TRIM Editing @trimediting Production at TRIM Editing - Noreen Khan Online and Telecine at Electric Theatre Collective @electric.theatre.collective Production at Electric Theatre Collective - Oliver Whitworth Cinematographer Agent - Pattie Sueoka @pattie316 at Gersh @gersh_production

David Knight - 14th June 2018

Related Content

video

slenderbodies 'Arrival' by Savannah Setten

Hot off the heels of their first collaboration for Belong, director Savannah Setten reunites with slenderbodies for another captivating video - filmed within the confines of a high …

Rob Ulitski - 26 days ago

Latest News