User Accounts

Young Thug wins Video Of The Year, Oscar Hudson wins Best Director and Semera Khan is Best Commissioner at UKMVAs 2017

Young Thug wins Video Of The Year, Oscar Hudson wins Best Director and Semera Khan is Best Commissioner at UKMVAs 2017

Promonews - 30th Oct 2017

On the biggest night of the year for music videos, Ryan Staake won Video of the Year for Young Thug's Wyclef Jean, Oscar Hudson won Best Director, Kendrick Lamar won Best Artist, and Semera Khan picked up her first Best Commissioner award from host Adam Buxton (above) at the UK Music Video Awards 2017 last Thursday (October 26th) at The Roundhouse in London.

Staake's Young Thug video won three awards in all, and on winning the last award of the night for Video of the Year, the director delighted the audience with an acceptance video in the style of his extraordinary 'meta-video', created after a disastrous shoot in which Young Thug failed to turn up. Staake started his two and a half-minute message with titles that began with: "I won an award for a video the artist never showed up to./So naturally I'm not going to turn up to the awards show."

The American director - in the UK on the night of the awards but unable to attend the ceremony as he was shooting a commercial in Manchester - went on to explain why he perservered with making the video when all seemed lost, and thanked Thugger "for making it possible by simply not showing up." He finished his acceptance message for the Video of the Year with: "This has been a crazy fucking year for all us. Politics, culture and technology are making reality less finite and increasingly malleable... Let's mold it into something better before we lose it entirely." 

Oscar Hudson also sent a heartfelt message of thanks on winning the Best Director award (above)  - a year after winning Best New Director at the UKMVAs - and his video for Bonobo's No Reason won two awards on the night, Best Dance Video UK and Best Production Design in a Video. 

Matilda Finn collected the Best New Director award from Simone Grattarola of sponsors Time Based Arts. Nathan Scherrer, producer of videos for Kendrick Lamar, Katy Perry and others, took the Best Producer award. And Kendrick Lamar also sent a video message of thanks on winning the Best Artist award.   

Pulse Films won the inaugural award at the UKMVAs for Best Production Company (above, CEO Marisa Clifford holding the trophy), and they also took five video awards on the night. As well as Hudson's Bonobo clip, alt-J's 3WW also won two awards - Best Alternative Video UK and Best Cinematography in a Video - both collected at the ceremony by the video's director Young Replicant, aka Alex Takács (below).

The other multiple-award winning video was The Blaze's Territory, directed by Blaze members Jonathan Alric and Guillaume Alric, which won Best Dance Video International and Best Styling in a Video.

The Icon Award for the UKMVAs 2017 went to Jake Nava, for his outstanding contribution to music video direction over more than two decades. A film created for the ceremony charted Nava's music video career, from Mark Morrison and Ms Dynamite in the Nineties, to Beyoncé and Britney Spears in the Noughties, and Lana Del Rey and Arctic Monkeys in the 2010s. 

The film also included personal messages from Beyoncé, Kylie Minogue, Emeli Sandé and Alicia Keys, and industry colleagues from both the UK and US. Nava collected the Icon Award from UKMVAs editorial director David Knight (above), and dedicated his award to his father who passed away this year.

Among the British winners, directing team The Sacred Egg picked up Best Rock/Indie Video UK for Royal Blood's Lights Out (above); Hector Dockrill won Best Urban Video UK for Ray BLK's Patience; and Henry Scholfield collected the Best Pop Video UK award for Dua Lipa's New Rules from Grace Thorpe at Rushes (below).

Music video makers came from far and wide to attend the awards, with winning French directors well represented once again: Romain Chassaing won Best Interactive Video for second year running for Naive New Beaters' Words Hurt. Colin Solal Cardo won the MVAs' inaugural Best Live Session award for his Mura Masa session ft Damon Albarn, expressing his delight that this genre of video had now been accepted into the "family" at the UK Music Video Awards. William Laboury picked up his Best Alternative Video Newcomer award for Bonnie Banane's L'Appétit. 

Barcelona-based directing team CANADA collected the Best Alternative International award for their video for Beck's All Night Long (above); while American director Jake Schreier (below) was on hand to pick up the award for Best Pop Video International for directing Haim's Want You Back.

Several winners who could not attend sent video messages, including Jonas Akerlund, who won the first Best Live Concert award for his long-awaited Rammstein - Paris film. Nick Roney, the director of The Lemon Twigs' I Want To Prove To You video, winner of the Best Rock/Indie Video Newcomer prize, also sent a message, where the ??? brothers (aka The Lemon Twigs) are seen bound and gagged in the boot of his car.

Among the Technical Achievement awards, Karni & Saul won the award for Best Animation in a Video for their work on Katie Melua's Perfect World. On receiving the award Karni Arieli gained one of the biggest cheers of the night from the 800-strong crowd at The Roundhouse when she called for "more women directors winning awards." Best Visual Effects went to the Moscow-based company CGF for their work on Leningrad's Kolshik, directed by Ilya Naishuller. MPC's Mark Gethin won Best Grading in a Video for Mick Jagger's Gotta Get A grip; and Luke Moran Morris (below) collected the Best Production Design award for his work on Bonobo's No Reason.

In the Newcomer section of awards sponsored by giffgaff, Taz Tron Delix won Best Urban Video for Oscar Worldpeace's Tate Modern/Wary/Pearls, and Matilda Finn won Best Dance Video for Obongjayar's Endless, before also taking the Best New Director award. Sam Bailey's video for Marika Hackman's My Lover Cindy won the public-voted Vevo MUST SEE Award, the one prize chosen by a non-industry vote.   

On a night of high excitement, emotion and euphoria, the last words were Ryan Staake's, and they were typewritten. He ended his message for winning Video of the Year with a promise "to retire this text-based commentary thing. I'm going to focus on making videos where things go a little more according to plan."

• All the winners at the UK Music Video Awards 2017 here



Promonews - 30th Oct 2017


  • Awards
  • Award winners
  • UK Music Video Awards
  • UK Music Video Awards 2017
  • UK Music Video Awards winners

Popular content


Problem with this page? Let us know

Related Content

Latest Videos