User Accounts

Camerimage 2014: Robbie Ryan and DANIELS win, and Jonas Åkerlund honoured

Camerimage 2014: Robbie Ryan and DANIELS win, and Jonas Åkerlund honoured

David Knight - 24th Nov 2014

In a repeat of their successes at this year's UK Music Video Awards, Robbie Ryan has won Best Cinematography In A Music Video for his work on the Daniel Wolfe-directed video for Paolo Nutini's Iron Sky (above), and the DANIELS-directed video for DJ Snake & Lil Jon's Turn Down For What has won Best Music Video, at Camerimage 2014.

The awards were presented at the gala awards event at the climax of Camerimage, the international film festival of the art of cinematography, at the Opera Nova in Bydgoszcz in Poland on November 22nd. This followed deliberation by a jury chaired by legendary American cinematographer Ed Lachman, and featuring top DoPs Matthew Libatique, Nancy Schreiber, Michael Seresin and Roman Vasyanov.

Camerimage also bestowed the award for Outstanding Achievement in the field of Music Videos on Jonas Åkerlund, director of iconic videos for Madonna, The Rolling Stones, Metallica, Ozzy Osbourne, The Smashing Pumpkins, Rihanna, Duran Duran, U2, Lady Gaga, Rammstein, Roxette, Coldplay, Maroon 5, The Prodigy, Beyoncé, and many more, in a career spanning 30 years. 

Other winners at Camerimage 2014 included the Russian film Leviathan, which won the Golden Frog, the prize for best feature film in the Main Competition. 

David Knight - 24th Nov 2014


  • Awards
  • Award winners
  • News

Popular content


Problem with this page? Let us know

Related Content

Latest Videos