Promo News - 18th July 2018

The nominees for the 2018 MTV Video Music Awards have been announced, with Cardi B leading the field with 10 nominations. The Carters – JAY-Z and Beyoncé – follow with eight nominations, all for their APESHIT video. That's followed by seven nominations each for Childish Gambino - all for his This Is America video - and Drake.

SZA, Janelle Monáe, Ariana Grande, and Young Thug are also nominated in multiple categories. Taylor Swift has a relatively minor haul of three nominations for Look What You Made Me Do (premiered at last year's VMAs), which has drawn a Twitter-led 'backlash' from Swift fans.

UK interest in this year's MTV Video Music Awards comes mainly in the form of Ed Sheeran and Dua Lipa, both nominated for Best Song for Perfect (also nominated for Best Direction) and New Rules respectively. Dua Lipa's IDGAF is nominated for Best Choreography, and her collab with Calvin Harris for One Kiss, directed by Emil Nava, is nominated for Best Dance Video. Georgia Hudson's video for P!nk's What About Us is nominated for Best Pop Video.  

The award ceremony will take place at New York’s Radio City Music Hall on Monday, August 20. Find the full list of nominees here.

Promo News - 18th July 2018

Related Content


2020 MVPA Awards nominations announced

Following the relaunch of the Music Video Production Association (MVPA) earlier this year, the MVPA has now announced the nominations of the 2020 MVPA Awards.

Promonews - 12 months ago

Latest Videos