David Knight - 13th Dec 2013

Beyoncé has stunned an unsuspecting world overnight by releasing her new album on iTunes with no prior publicity whatsoever - out-stealthing all other surprise album releases this year by creating what she has described as her 'visual album' including 17 completely new music videos, created by a platoon of directors including Jake Nava, Hype Williams, Melina Matsoukas, Terry Richardson, Jonas Åkerlund, @lilinternet, Francesco Carrozzini, and Todd Tourso. 

Star cameos include Harvey Keitel in the Pretty Hurts clip, directed by Melina, which concludes with home video footage of a pre-teen Beyoncé winning a singing competition. Hype Williams directed the videos for Drunk In Love (featuring Jay-Z) and Blow; Jake Nava the videos for Partition and ***Flawless, while Jonas Akerlund has directed the clips for Haunted and Superpower (featuring Frank Ocean). 

There are also three bonus videos on Beyoncé's eponymously-titled 14-track fifth solo album, and 30 second previews of all of the videos are available to view on YouTube. But to watch them in entirety, you have to buy the album on iTunes, with the physical CD/DVD release available on December 21st. 

David Knight - 13th Dec 2013

Related Content

Latest Videos