UK Music Video Awards 2013: new award announced – VEVO Best New Artist!

UK Music Video Awards 2013: new award announced – VEVO Best New Artist!UK Music Video Awards 2013: new award announced – VEVO Best New Artist!

A week to go to the UK Music Video Awards 2013, and a brand new award has been announced that will be presented at the awards ceremony on October 28th - the VEVO Best New Artist award.

This new award, to be presented at the UKMVAs for the first time, is chosen from the most popular videos from artists who appear on the VEVO New Artist video chart, featuring those who are currently promoting their first album. And here is the shortlist:

Avicii ft Nicky Romero – I Could Be The One
Director: Peter Huang
Prod co: Mad Ruk Entertainment
Commissioner: Ash Pournouri / At Night Management / UMG

Bastille – Pompeii
Director: Jesse John Jenkins
Producer: Claire Stubbs/Jeff Panteleo (EPs)
Prod co: Partizan
Commissioner: James Hackett for Parlophone 

Iggy Azalea - Work
Director: Jonas & Francois
Producer: Jules de Chateleux
Prod co: Division Paris
Commissioner: Natalie Arnett for Mercury Records

Labrinth – Beneath Your Beautiful
Director: Sophie Muller
Producer: Jacob Swan Hyam
Prod co: Black Dog Films

Little Mix – Wings
Director: Max & Dania
Producer: Scott Clark
Prod co: Believe Media
Commissioner: Mike O'Keefe, Marisa Garner for Sony Music

Naughty Boy ft Sam Smith – La La La
Director: Ian Pons Jewell
Producer: Tim Harrison, Dobrina Manolova
Prod co: Studio Murmur, Gran Angular
Commissioner: James Hackett & Sam Seager for EMI

The new award, replacing the People's Choice award supported by VEVO at the UK Music Video Awards for the past two years, reinforces VEVO's commitment to new music talent: in early 2012 VEVO launched their LIFT strand, which has boosted the careers of some of the hottest up and coming artists, and recently launched their new DSCVR programme which helps to amplify new artists’ very first videos.

Tom Connaughton, VEVO's director of programming, says: “We are proud to continue our association with the MVAs for the third year running and delighted to support the new category of VEVO Best New Artist.

“Backing new musical talent and enabling fans to watch and listen to the best developing artists the UK has to offer is a crucial part of what we do at VEVO.  As reflected in the list of nominees, this year we’ve seen some truly excellent new acts and incredible videos. And it’s great to be able to recognise and celebrate the artists, directors and videos that drive our platform via this award.”

The VEVO Best New Artist award is added to the industry-based honours to be presented at the UK Music Video Awards 2013, in one week's time on Monday, October 28th. Tickets are still available for the ceremony and aftershow that takes place at the Southbank Centre in London, with ticket booking forms available from the UKMVAs website

Change or add info to this page.


  • Agile Films
  • Chief Productions
  • EPiK Music Videos
  • Partizan
  • Lock It In
  • RubberNecker
  • London Alley UK
  • Forever
  • Rankin Film
  • Creep
  • Blink Productions
  • Emanate Studios
  • Somesuch & Co
  • Park Village
  • Artist Preserve
  • Thomas English
  • The Shiny Awards
  • Division
  • Las Bandas Be Brave
  • Rattling Stick
  • My Accomplice
  • Stink
  • Trunk default banner
  • Cut+Run
  • Moxie Pictures
  • Biscuit Filmworks
  • Burning Reel
  • Cardel Entertainment
  • LEZ Creative
  • Solab
  • Graft
  • Luti Media
  • Blindeye Films
  • Bullion Productions
  • Caviar
  • Kode Media
  • Homespun
  • Good Company
  • Friend
  • Speade
  • Black Dog Films
  • Free Agent UK
  • Knucklehead
  • Prettybird
  • East End Studios
  • Canada London
  • Greatcoat Films
  • Marisa Garner Associates
  • A+
  • East London Studios
  • Iconoclast
  • Doomsday Entertainment
  • Pulse Films
  • Believe Media
  • Wash
  • La Pac
  • OB Management
  • The Sweet Shop